10:30 am - 8:30 pm Currently closed.

What to Read Next: “Where the Crawdads Sing”

|

Since its publication, Delia Owens’ Where the Crawdads Sing  has been on everyone’s “to read” list. (If you haven’t read it yet we highly recommend reserving a copy today! You’ll love it!)

Unfortunately, every great book must eventually come to an end. If you’re one of the many who have finished Owens’ book, you may find yourself wondering, “what should I read next?”

Wonder no longer! We’ve pulled together a list of six books we recommend if you loved Where the Crawdads Sing. Want even more suggestions? Stop in and see us! We’re always happy to chat about books and help you find your next great read.

Tell the Wolves I’m Home by Carla Rifka Brunt
Her world upended by the death of a beloved artist uncle who was the only person who understood her, fourteen-year-old June is mailed a teapot by her uncle’s grieving friend, with whom June forges a poignant relationship. Both books have an atmospheric tone, quirky characters and are coming-of-age stories with character drive storylines.
The Marsh King’s Daughter by Karen Dionne
A woman whose birth occurred as a result of her teen mother’s abduction and imprisonment in an isolated marshland cabin risks the family that does not know her past when she uses survival skills honed in childhood to track down her murderous father. Both books have compelling writing styles, well-developed characters, and characters that are “of their environment.”
Nightwoods by Charles Frazier
Named the guardian of her murdered sister’s troubled twins, Luce struggles to build a family with the children before being targeted by the twins’ father–her sister’s killer–who believes that the children are in possession of a stolen cache of money. Both books have character-driven storylines, and are leisurely paced works of literary fiction featuring rural women.
After This by Alice McDermott
A portrait of an American family during the middle decades of the twentieth century evokes the social, spiritual, and political turmoil of the era as seen through the experiences of a middle-class couple and their children. Both of these books share the genre literary fiction. They are atmospheric and character-driven novels.
On Chesil Beach by Ian McEwan
On their wedding day, a young couple looks forward to the future while worrying about their upcoming wedding night. Both books share the genre literary fiction and are character driven, romantic and leisurely paced. They both have characters that are sympathetic.
Once Upon a River by Diane Setterfield
When the seemingly dead body of a child reanimates hours after arriving at an ancient inn on the Thames, three families try to claim her. Both books share the genre literary fiction and are character driven and leisurely paced novels.