10:30 am - 5:00 pm Open now.

Databases

Featured

Merck Manuals

The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.

Transparent Language Online

Transparent Language Online offers a comprehensive language-learning platform. With this flexible program, you can quickly and easily learn new languages using our wide variety of courses and activities. Transparent Language Online offers over 100 languages and is constantly growing.

NovelistPlus

A fun tool that will help you discover what to read next. Find books, authors, and series that are similar to ones you’ve enjoyed. Explore fiction and nonfiction genres. Print book discussion guides for your book club. List all books in a series, in order.

Genealogy & Foreign Language

Heritagequest

An excellent source of genealogical information. Research aids help you to begin, use the census data, and go beyond the basics of genealogical research. Heritagequest contains information from the 1790-1940 US census, city directories, the Social Security death index, veteran’s records, and much more

Transparent Language Online

Transparent Language Online offers a comprehensive language-learning platform. With this flexible program, you can quickly and easily learn new languages using our wide variety of courses and activities. Transparent Language Online offers over 100 languages and is constantly growing.

Health & Medicine

Merck Manuals

The Merck Manuals are a comprehensive medical information source covering thousands of topics in all fields of medicine. They are offered as a free public service to health care professionals and the general public.

Merck Manuals – Veterinary Manual

The Merck Manual – Veterinary Manual is a comprehensive information source covering thousands of topics in all veterinary fields. It is offered as a free public service to animal care professionals and the general public.

Literature

NH State Catalog

The combined catalog for public libraries and some colleges located in New Hampshire. Search here for items that Hollis Social Library can attempt to get for you via Interlibrary Loan.

Novelist K-8Plus

A subset of NovelistPlus for the Kindergarten through Grade 8 crowd.

NovelistPlus

A fun tool that will help you discover what to read next. Find books, authors, and series that are similar to ones you’ve enjoyed. Explore fiction and nonfiction genres. Print book discussion guides for your book club. List all books in a series, in order.

Research

Academic Search Premier

A collection of full text, peer-reviewed journals covering biology, chemistry, engineering, music, physics, psychology, religion and other topics commonly studied in college.

Business Resources

Content from Business Source Premier and Regional Business News.

Explora for Adults

Provides reliable content from the world’s leading magazines and reference books, and primary sources such as news videos. Using Explora for Adults, you can search the contents of Academic Search Premier, Newspaper Source, Consumer Health Complete, Health Source (Consumer Edition), MAS Ultra (School Edition) and more.

Explora for Educators

Allows educators to search Academic Search Premier, ERIC and the Professional Development Collection quickly and efficiently. It also contains lesson plans, curriculum standards, student tools, and links to useful websites for teachers.

Explora for Elementary School

Replaces Primary Search for grades K-5. It will help you with homework and school projects. It contains complete articles from magazines, books, and an encyclopedia, as well as news videos, pictures and primary sources. In Advanced Search, limit by lexile to find results that are easy for you to read.

Explora for High School

Replaces Student Research Center. It is the place to go for homework help and research. It contains full text articles and pictures from newspapers, encyclopedias, reference books, and magazines, as well as news videos and primary source documents.

Explora for Middle School

Replaces Student Research Center for grades 6-8. It will help you with homework and school projects. It contains complete articles from magazines, books, and an encyclopedia, as well as news videos, pictures and primary sources.

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts

An index of magazines, books, and research reports covering librarianship, classification, cataloging, information management, and more.